Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A persuasive argument should be able to alter the stances of the opposition. Nevertheless, the process of convincing incorporates emotional factors that might be immutable by sound logic. In addition, for a argument to be sound, it should be persuasive to the general as well as the opposition.

Admittedly, a speech or writing that is capable of persuading people with the opposite stance is a cogent one: people are usually unwilling to brook to contrasting opinions. They usually try to find logical fallacies in other's ideas in a attempt to protect their views and arguments. For instance, in presidential elections every candidate provides a number of seemingly feasible pledges to the society. Before any debate between the candidates, most of the pledges seem plausible thus making all the candidates pertinent for the job, but after the debate and derogatory remarks towards other's commitments, the pitfalls are revealed. Therefore, an argument that can persuade the opposition can be considered as coherent without much doubt.

Nevertheless, it is difficult to argue against the fact that the process of persuasion entails emotional conflicts as well as logical ones. The opposition will likely be frustrated or even repulsed by the proposition's arguments no matter how competent it is since people do not like succumbing to others. Therefore, it would be hasty to evaluate a argument as incoherent because it wasn't able to persuade the contradicting views. For instance, in the 2012 Korean presidential election, candidate Lee, a left wing candidate denunciated candidate Park with personal matters that weren't relevant to the commitments or the competence of the candidate itself. Their debate ended up with nitpicking other's faults rather than persuading opponents. Hence, the process of persuading isn't all about making sound arguments: it may be a process of emotional conflict instead.

In addition, for a argument to be evaluated as cogent, it should be appealing to the crowd in general. For instance, president candidates who win the most votes are the ones that are able to move the people on the middle: people who are not sure they oppose or agree with the candidate. In a election, we do not expect the candidate to persuade the other candidates since they are all competing for a single job. What we want is the candidate to provide credible evidence to support their plans in leading the country: how they will enhance the economy, resolve political issues with neighboring countries, help the poor.

In conclusion, although persuading antagonists is a important part in appraising a argument, the ability to be attracting to the people in the gray area should be the yardstick in assessing a argument.