Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Is persuade someone who has opposing view only way to find out true value of an idea? Convincing opponent of the agrement required deep analysis, communication skill and opponet who is not too tenacious. However, mental self analysis is other means to get value of an idea.

By mental analysis one can get deep insite of an argument and one has not required to convince someone who does not agree with that argument. For instance, Galelio argued that the earth is not centre of the universe and the earth is rotating around sun. At that time church and priests were not persuaded by galelio's arguement and sentenced galelio home arrest. But that does not prove that galelio does not know value of his argument. Even if he was in house arrest, he know he was true and stick to his argument which after some times accepted by the world. Therefore, to know significance of any argument persone does not need to convince person with opposing view.

Secondly, changing other person's view required more that just logical argument. Personality ad communication skill plays important role during converting someone to your side. For example, Thomas Edison was in favour of DC current, while Tesla was AC current side which is more efficient that DC current. But Thomas know how to turn people and politician in his favour and Tesla do not. Eventually people were using DC current for aroud tw decades despite it's lower efficiency due to transmition loss. Tesla was enable to implicate his point but he knew has his idea has more benefit. So, it is not necessary taht persuading someone to opposite side is only was to prove your point.

On the onther hand, giving opinion and try to convince other may give deep insite of that argument and might lead to clear doubt or error in our argument. For instance, group discussion is very effective than general class room teaching method because person understand core logic during discussion on whichever side hi might be.

In conclusion, there are other ways such as mental analysis to discover value of an idea and convincing opponet is not reflaction of importance of an agrument.