An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition

Nowadays, people are becoming aware and want to control every aspect of their life. Similarly, speaker argue that patient should have doctor's past history of disease they are treating which shows doctor's competence. However, in my doctor's treatment record is not sole reflection of doctor's qualification.

Record is only reflection of ressult of doctor's treatment not thier efford and competency. For example, there are certain diseases such as cancer and AIDS have very low treatment success ratio and showing that record may freak patient. In case of absence of addition doctor such as in African underdeveloped counties, patience may not servive due to lack of treatment or not complying with doctor. So, showing doctor's history is more detrimental that informative.

Secondly, reading record need basic knowledge of medical jargons and terms, while some countries do not have even 50% literacy ratio. Even if they have basic knowledge, they could not have medical tretment knowledge and this can lead to misconstrue of records. Patients can only interprete how many patient survive, while ignoring other technical factors such as stage of disease, other patient past medical record, habits and reaction to treatment. All this factor altimately decide success of treatment. Therefore, showing past treatment histry of doctor is not beneficial.

In conclusion, While it is good idea to show doctor's record to well educated medical field patient, for most cases it could be mis interpreted and can hamr doctor's reputation even if he achieved high success ratio compare to other.