The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children

spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in

the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian

village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying

cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding

of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp stats that his interview-centered method more dependable than Dr. Field observation-centered method. However, this argument has some unwarrented assumptions and missing data which can invalidate Dr. Karp's conclution of higher accuracy over Dr. Field method.

The speaker failed to note that Dr. Field observed Tertia twenty years ago and comparing current and past data is not full proof evidence. For example, may be twenty year ago tertia has different child-rearing tradition because of isolation from rest of world. But now they have contact with rest of world and their child-rearing method changed due to outside influence. If this is the case, spearke's argument completely falls apart.

Moreover, talking is not accurate measure of knowing tradition and specificaly to child. And these children may not mature enough to answer intervie questions seriously. Conversely, Dr. Field was a well known anthropologist who have expertise to derive conclusion based on his observation. Therefore, if interview-centered method depended on immatured child for deriving conclusion, Dr. Karp argument becomes invalid.

Even if above two is false, interview essential data of interview method and observation method are missing. Later team only conducted interview with children from major villages of islands, whereas Dr. Field stayed longer in teria island to observe and involed with them. If this is the case, Dr. Karp's argument hold no position as this method did not cover adequant data, while Dr. Field has vast and relaible data to back up his case.