GRE Argument:The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an ent

The article implies that interview-centered method is more accurate than observation-centered method when understanding child-rearing traditions in island cultures. The argument is relied on the interviews done in Tertia island showing that children there spend more time talking about their biological parents than other adults in the village, so it concludes that the claim saying children reared by an entire village is invalid, and so is the observation-centered approach that supported the claim. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, three evidence must be provided.

To begin with, the author attacked the claim that children were reared by the whole village from observation-centered approach is invalid because of their interviews with children on Tertia island are showing that children spend more time talking about their biological parents instead of other adults on the island. However, without evidence proving that words from children about their biological parents are actually demonstrating that biological parents were the people raising them, the interview cannot prove that the result from observation centered method is invalid. For instance, if the interview contained a lot of topics about children’s appearance, then it is very likely that children would carry out biological parents frequently during the conversation, because appearance of children was inherited from their biological parents. However, the fact that biological parents’ giving appearance genes to children has nothing to do with the question that whether children are reared by biological parents or not, so without this evidence, the interview cannot be a support to this argument.

Secondly, there are no details about these two kinds of methods, and without evidence that both interview-centered and observation-centered methods include enough people on islands as samples, the results from both approaches cannot be evaluated. For instance, if both methods only include less than twenty people on Tertia island; however, there are more then ten thousand people on Tertia island, then the result from either method cannot be valid because of no enough sampling data, weakening the representative ability of both results.

Further more, the article is assuming that every condition on each island is the same so drawing a conclusion that interview-centered method will establish a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island cultures based on the result only from Tertia island. Whereas, it needs a solid evidence that every island is sharing the same conditions, including domestic, economic, and social conditions, and that it can further apply the result from Tertia island to other islands. Otherwise, the conclusion is periled because it based on the unwarranted assumption.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can offer details of above evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the whether interview-centered is more accurate than observation-centered method on child-rearing traditions in island cultures.