The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones
Every child’s first school is his home, and his parents are his first teachers.
Whether a child is raised by one or both parents, step parents,
grandparents, or foster parents, the child observes and, in most cases,
imitates the behaviors of those adults. This imitation is so important that
parents often say to their children, “Do as I say, not what I do" when they
fear that they may be setting a bad example. A young child's undeveloped
brain cannot rely on observation alone to understand how to behave; he or
she will make mistakes and act inappropriately from time to time.
Occasionally, children need to be corrected.
Children will move on to more formal education around the age of five.
Teachers will act in loco parentis, in the place of their parents. Some
children enter school with an innate understanding of how to act in this
new environment; others will struggle. Teachers have the best interests of
their young charges in mind at all times but understand that some children
need more direction than others. Ignoring negative actions can actually be
dangerous. Running around a classroom, a child can trip and fall or run
into a desk, a chair, or another student. Should the teacher be expected to
wait until the child tires of running and praise him or her for stopping?
These children will eventually enter the halls of high school where the
potential for danger increases tremendously. Chemistry class, alone, has
equipment and materials that have the potential to seriously injure those
who handle them incorrectly. The teacher who ignores dangerous actions
performed by students in this situation should probably be fired.
Additionally, there are classes where children may use stoves, irons,
pneumatic wrenches, or table saws. For their safety, students must be told
when they are using those tools improperly.
Even in classes that are seemingly danger free, accidents can happen. In an
otherwise tame English class, students throw pens across the room. These
projectiles can end up in another student's eye. Let's not overlook the
compasses that students use in math class. Any number of injuries can
result from the sharp tip on that instrument.
Teaching continues after children have finished their educations.
Employers are not likely to overlook negative actions in the workplace.
The bottom line depends on everyone performing his or her job correctly.
Children whose negative actions have been ignored throughout their lives
will be in for a rude awakening after they leave the safe haven of home
and school. Ignoring negative actions may, in the end, be setting children
up for future failure.