The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at

6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The shop owner suggesting to close shop 3 hour early and remove all movies ,which are older 5 year to reduce stock, for reduction in operating cost which eventually reverse decline in his profit. However, he failed to provide some imporant information to backup his argument and this critical data are essential too evaluate this recommendation.

He did not mention anything about his rush hour time. The other store is in downtown Marston, mostly businees and corporate office area, and customers might visit during day time only. On the onther hand, Movies Galor might located near residential area and most customers are visiting at night. If this is case, it is not recommended to close shop at night which instead of improving profit may further reduce profit. Therefore, knowing peak time and cutomer visiting pattern is very imporatant before implimenting this recommendation.

Futhermore, data on number of employee and shop rent can make evaluation more smoother. For instance, the downtown store may have more employee and higher shop rent, while Movies Galore has own shop and muh less employee compare to other store. In this case reducing opeing time might not have tremendous effect on operational cost.

A third thing the show owner consider is type of customers and people leaving neaby. If downtown store has young customer, fan of new movie, and Movies Galor has to deal with older people who like old movie, removing older movie is profitable for downtown store not for Movies Galor. He need to consider preference of customer before imitating the other store's method.

In conclusion, further information of type of customers, type of area, visiting cycle, enployees' wage and show rent can help in deep analysis of the shop owner's argument.