Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Internet has become an inevitable part of people’s lives. It is a widely held belief that government should be given free net to their citizens, but there is a strong counter argument amongst sections of the people that there will be a paid subscription for World Wide Web like other utilities services. However, I am of the opinion that this is a matter to be debated in the light of several factors before the reasonable conclusion can be drawn.

The first and the foremost reason is that free internet increase the overall quality of life for everyone for poor people, who do not easily access to the internet. Not only people could communicate more convenient via the internet but also do they could entertain without spending too much money on leisure activities.

The second worth mentioning reason is that there are vital tasks, ranging from financial transactions with banks to research and education, which could only be accessed via the internet. It is not fair that people be deprived of these services because of financial issues.

On the contrary, there are certain group of people who vehemently contend that there should be fees for using web. The government should be used that funds to sectors with higher priority, such as improvement in infrastructure, state education system, or healthcare facilities. Furthermore, if people oblige to pay for their usage of the internet, they would surf the web or download files responsibly, but when the internet is free of charge, people would not care about their usage anymore.

To conclude, after analysing both the views I am of the opinion that, although there are some demerits for cost free web for everyone, I believe that it is a practical plan, and the government should provide free internet to public.