The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter Jones.

“In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses

serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker

roductivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Mayor argue that building subway system, which will reduce traffice congestion, will ultimetely improve the economy of Briggsville. Howver, he failed to provide essential iformation on unstated assumption.

The first thing he assumed that is most of worker are working inside major downtown areas from which the subway will pass. But what if Briggsville is industrial town and worker daily commute to area different from downtown. So, building the subway system will not improve work effecienty at all.

Even if suppose mojority people are working in downtown, preference of Biggsville people also needs to consider. For instance, in case people prefer car instead of the subway becuase subway can not provide remote trasportation. Also inconsistency and lack of safety of bus service may hinder people from taking bus after arriving to subway station. In this situation traffic congestion is unlikely to do down.

Also, mayor did not stated population of worker and monetary value of improvement in workers' efficiency. The subway sytem is a multi-million-dollor project and finacial feasibility must be checked before arriving any conclusion of improvement in economy. Consider, only slight increase in productivity which is well below the project cost of the subway system can lead to downturn in Briggsville economy. And he were not sure about relation between productivity and time spend in traffic. People may spend time with their family instead of working.

In conclusion, Mayor Harrison assumed relationhsip between the subway system, Briggsville economy improvement and workers' productivity withous stating any clarification on Briggsville people preference, finacial feasibility and working location of people.