The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of video rental stores In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore s ten video rental stores Since we are f

In the memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore has recommended changing the way of functioning stores. The owner's decision was based on the fact that one of the stores that closed early and also eliminated older movies did actually cause an increase in the profits. However, the recommendation lies on several unwarranted assumptions and three questions need to be answered before its validity can be fully evaluated.

First, is the downtown Marston store actually comparable to the other stores? It is likely that the store, located in a busy downtown, is the largest store in the chain, requiring more fixed costs resulting from cleaning activities, employee salary, and security. A larger store has more area to cover which mandates an increase in the number of employees responsible for managing it such as janitors, sales assistants, and security personnel. It is possible that the area suffers from traffic congestion issues, especially to a greater extent between 6 and 9 PM, causing consumers difficulty in reaching the store. If this is true, the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Second, are the preferences of people generally the same in all regions? It is possible that the population living near downtown has developed a taste for consuming more modern entertainment sources including newer movies and rejected to pay heed anymore to the content of the past. There is no guarantee that people living in other areas will also be happy with the decision of the store chain to exclude older movies from their stores. Perhaps a majority of Movies Galore’s customers are old people who have a predilection for vintage movies. If the stores change their way of functioning according to the recommendation, it could have dire financial ramifications for the owner as well as its employees.

Third, is the downtown Marston store located in a safe area? It is likely that people prefer not to visit that area in the evening hours owing to increased incidences of criminal activities in that area such as mugging or shootings. Perhaps, the local authorities imposed a restriction on the people's activities in the area owing to these malpractices. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, although the owner might have arrived at a sound recommendation, it is based on unfounded assumptions that if untrue can seriously undermine the validity of the proposal, If the owner could provide more facts, perhaps through systematic surveys (or scientific studies), the recommendation could be evaluated fully for its validity as it will answer the above three questions.