Sports stars movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

Cinema impacts human thinking, either in a profound fashion or a minute way. The audience who consumes audio-visual content, particularly children and young adults, is highly susceptible to the nature of ideas being expressed and eventually imbibe a certain degree of it into their behavior. In this scenario, it becomes imperative to pay heed to the potentially deleterious effects of violent and obscene material distributed through mass media. Therefore, I mostly agree with the above statement for three different reasons.

First, famous personalities have a profound role in the development of youth. For example, youngsters who follow the actor Johnny Depp are likely to be influenced by his movies (such as the Pirates of the Caribbean) which, in turn, can lead the younger population to form a predilection for seafaring, ships, and the navy. Similarly, actors playing either heroic or villainous roles in films, who resort to violence to settle issues, are instilling a sense of belligerence in the young hoi polloi. To mitigate the negative consequences, the stars must stand up and act. This is true and strengthens the statement.

Second, financial resources are the most fruitful when used for benevolent purposes. For example, if a movie star decides to live lavishly rather than contributing to social causes, can encourage acquisitiveness in the viewers. If celebrities contribute to alleviating societal issues, it can positively impact the mindset of the youth, making them more helpful and compassionate toward others. This makes the statement presented highly creditable.

Third, movies have a wide impact on the thought process of teenagers. For instance, if an actor or actress who is highly popular among adolescents agrees to play increasingly negative roles in movies can encourage the viewers to act accordingly or even maliciously. In this manner, cinema can pose an insidious threat to societal functioning. However, these deleterious effects can be mitigated if the concerned artist stands up and volunteers awareness programs to clarify the reality to the young audience. Thus, the statement does actually hold water.

In conclusion, although many would endorse the idea that film idols have absolute freedom over their actions, this belief can pose dire ramifications given the impact made on the psychology of young people. The youth if exposed to harmful content for prolonged periods can permanently affect their outlook on life. Therefore, it is important that the stars pay attention to their behavior and roles and act in a way that proves salubrious for the growth of the youth. Those who ignore the statement are highly oblivious and do such imprudence at their own peril.