television is entirely democratic in that its content is controlled by what the people want

Television gained prominence soon after its invention in the twentieth century. It has widely gained popularity owing to the audio-visual input that it provides to the human senses. Although television is generally used for telecasting entertainment programs, it can serve diverse purposes. The content shown on TV is not merely the absolute monopoly of the people running them but the overall influence of the individuals who are consuming the broadcasted information. The inputs from the public can be taken in many ways including the data generated from surveys and online reviews. Therefore, I mostly agree with the statement for three reasons.

First, television channels are prone to be outstripped by competitors. A broadcaster who does not comply with the needs of consumers can fail to generate the revenues required to sustain it. For instance, people’s tastes can vary drastically over time and channels need to determine exactly what the end user likes to satisfy their needs. This way the individuals who watch television play a key role in influencing the type of content that is shown on a particular channel. Recently, the invasion of Ukraine by its neighboring nation Russia has raised concerns worldwide regarding an imminent world war, both from the government professionals and the commoners. In this scenario, television tends to serve the needs of people to disseminate information that is required at hand. Similarly, by observing the trends in kids’ TV watching patterns, many channels have stopped broadcasting cartoons after midnight and have replaced them with advertisements. This is true and strengthens the statement.

Second, television is highly censored and the content must be approved by authorities before broadcasting. This situation occurs since the administration must make sure that to content broadcasted is actually desirable or beneficial. Certain audio-visual images can be graphic or display nudity that is not suitable for consumption by children and the younger human population. Here, the people’s opinion comes into play. Most parents do not support their kids to have exposure to obscene content. Thus, broadcasters care about the needs of the public and show content that is desired. Therefore, the statement does hold water.

On the other hand, programs that are broadcasted by government channels might not be representative of what the citizens of a nation would like to watch. For instance, the bureaucracy would like to censor information that is not necessarily required by the commoners. For example, certain financial information like investment decisions on nuclear warheads might disquiet pacifists and plans to sign furtive deals are not divulged to prevent controversies that can do more harm than good.

In conclusion, although many would support the idea that television is highly restricted by the nature of people controlling the broadcasting, the content presented over the satellites is actually tailored to the needs of the public. This is evidenced by several examples that have been presented above. It is highly unlikely that a channel that does not align with the ideology of the commoners will thrive in an environment that is inherently competitive and does not hesitate to decimate those who fail to keep up with the trends.