The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most popular doll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll

According to a memo, the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc. has made a prediction about an increase in profits generated from the sales of an improved version of a doll. The president came to this prediction based on information provided by surveys conducted on parents and the popularity of a previously marketed doll among children. However, several unstated assumptions have been made by the author, that, if untrue, would significantly undermine the prediction. Before we can proceed with the evaluation of the prediction, three questions need to be answered by the president.

First, will the preference of children remain the same in the future? It might be possible that with the advancement in technology, the current version of the doll, even though made more robust, will be rendered obsolete. For instance, with an increase in the availability of bombastic robot toys, the demand for meek dolls would be seriously attenuated. Moreover, there has been an increase in the use of computers, mobile phones, and tablets, which is influencing the current gen children to incline more toward digital toys such as video games. If these facts are true, then the viability of the argument would be seriously undermined.

Second, can the competitor be expected to not change its strategies? It might be a possibility that with increased funding for research and development of materials, Optima comes up with even better materials that are not only more durable but also more non-toxic and safer in nature. In addition, Optima can expand its product profile by innovating new designs that might be perceived as even more attractive by the children. Thus, if these events happen in the future, then the prediction will not hold water.

Third, is the data from the survey reliable and trustworthy? It might be the case that the questions in the survey are poorly designed with an unscientific approach. Moreover, the sample size considered in the process of collecting statistics might be insufficient to account for the whole population of customers. Moreover, the president has no facts about the age of the children who are using the doll. For instance, younger children are more reckless and might treat toys with less care as compared to older kids. If these events happen, then the prediction of the president is highly likely to fail.

In conclusion, the prediction as it stands now is seriously flawed due to the unwarranted assumptions made by the president. Although the president believes that improving the durability will cause an increase in revenue, questioning the legitimacy of seemingly veracious facts should not be overlooked. In order to fully understand the effectiveness of the prediction, the author needs to present evidence, perhaps in the form of scientific research studies. If the president fails to answer even one of these questions, the prediction would probably fail to be true.