Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations provided they operate within the law is to make as mu

We live in a world of consumerism where our life is highly dependent on the products manufactured by various industries. Although most companies have a very human manner of producerism, others are not necessarily so since our world is not ideal. Therefore, I mostly agree with the first view presented in the statement for three reasons.

First, companies do care about their reputation. For example, many multinational companies including Nestle, TetraPak, and Danone work in the niche of food processing and thus inherently are liable to produce a significant amount of effluents as a result of production activities. However, these liquid wastes are treated meticulously for they pose a risk to the environment, particularly marine life. Therefore, these firms take pains to minimize the hazards caused by the discharge of these fluids into water bodies such as rivers and oceans. These activities although compulsory and mandated by the government, are done with the intention to promote their reputation and naturally show the efforts of the companies to take better care of the societies near which they operate. This is true and significantly strengthens the former view in the statement.

Second, companies are not able to maximize efficiency if their milieu is not in a sound condition. For instance, firms care for their employees' health through fitness training programs and promoting healthy diet habits. This not only benefits the workers directly but indirectly causes the companies to operate more productively since such employees fall sick less frequently and their mood is enhanced. The latter can be attributed to the positive impact on mental health by regular exercise, and the fact that the employees are aware that their employer does actually care for them.

On the other hand, in the vast corporate sector, there exist certain exceptions. All firms cannot function in the same manner. Their way of operating is highly influenced by the thought process of the individuals managing the firm and we do not live in an ideal world. Therefore, bad cases are likely to exist. For example, the company responsible for the Bhopal Gas Tragedy did not actually follow the mandatory rules and regulations required for safely producing chemicals. However, they used old and worn-out equipment in their factory which jeopardized the containment of a lethal chemical compound. This shows that a few firms are solely money minded and do not pay heed to the dire consequences to the environment as a result of their industrial activities.

In conclusion, although many would support the view that companies exist only to make money and do not innately care about their surroundings and people, the reality is quite the opposite. This is evidenced by several facts presented above. No doubt, outliers do exist in any non-ideal world. People who blatantly judge the benevolence of most firms without taking into account facts from reliable sources do so at their own peril.