Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well- being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When industrialization was first blossoming in European nations, most of the corporations and institutions being created had a sole purpose: the advancement of mankind to unprecedented levels. With a couple of centuries under our belt, most companies have diversified, and now offer a range of products, as well as services. The prompt suggests that these corporations can serve to either promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate, or simply be focussed on making as much money as possible, while sticking within the confines of law. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the idea that any corporation that seeks to progress has the economic and moral responsibility to look out for the society in which it function, and thus contribute towards it betterment and advancement. However, I do concede that even while serving society, there is no immorality associated with institutions that try to make profits off their businesses. I will be outlining two major reasons for my opinion.

First of all, the primary motive of any corporation is to provide a good or service that can be consumed by members of the society. It is highly unlikely for people to buy something when they know it would be useless to them, and hence companies do need to focus on customer satisfaction. For example, a fruit-seller won’t make big profits if he sells rotten apples. These may cost him lesser, but no one would be willing to purchase them. Another example would be that of a law firm, which can never churn out any profits if the lawyers are not adept at defending their clients. By caring about the society, and trying to protect the innocent from being sentenced or punished, the firm doesn’t only benefit the person on trial, but also gains a good reputation for itself. This would encourage other clients to seek their services, thus boosting their acclaim, while also helping in ameliorating the society in which they operate. Thus, there is a symbiotic relationship between a company’s profits and its commitment to the welfare of society, for one can not thrive without the existence of another.

Secondly, a healthy environment adds to the finanical as well as aesthetic image of the corporation. For instance, studies suggest that a number of millennials look out for the ambience, facilities and services that a company provides for them, before taking up a job there. By uping the ante and caring about the safety and mental health of their workers, the corporation would gain loyal employees, who are likely to be more productive. This example illustrates how efforts to preserve and amend the environment and facilities can be prescient for the company’s future growth and progress.

Of course, it is understandable that any corporation would need money in order to stay on top of its activities, pay its employees, and expand themselves further. However, seeking financial stability doesn’t necessarily mean having to compromise on the quality of environment, or damaging and misleading the society to gain profits. Money can be one of the objectives, but it is impossible to maintain a steady earning if one doesn’t provide for the society.