Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company states that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget to reaching the public through advertising. The author provides his recommendation on the basis of the marketing department's report, which suggests a discrepancy: despite fewer people attending the Super Screen-produced movies that year, the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, the following three questions need to be answered.

First of all, does the past year's report indicate a general trend? Perhaps, the number of people going to the theatres last year simply decreased because of an ongoing pandemic. It is likely that people were scared to venture out alone for leisure activities, and this led to the drop in their attendance at Super Screen-produced movies. Moreover, it is likely that the movies released by Super Screen last year did not have mass appeal, but the movies lined up for the upcoming years may cater to a larger audience. This would lead to a reversal of the trend, with a higher population signing up to watch movies created for laypersons like them. If either of these scenarios is true, it is likely that the author's recommendation does not hold water, and additonal answers need to be provided.

Secondly, how can it be assumed that the public is unaware of the quality of movies available at Super Screen? In the age of the internet, where everything is connected, it is erroneous to assume that people wanting to watch a particular movie would have no access to its reviews. Just because a few people gave the movie a good rating, does not mean that everyone else would want to view it as well. It is possible that a majority of last year's movie dealt with sensitive or niche issues which did not attract the general populace. In such cases, the an increased budget for advertising would do little to attract viewers, and would instead be a waste of the firm's financial and human resources.

Thirdly, who gave the positive reviews for the Super Screen movie reviews? It is highly likely that some of the positive reviewers could have watched the movie on an OTT platform, or through illegal downloads. This would explain the difference between the high ratings given to the movies, despite the low sales. It is also possible that the reviews were only given by people who liked the movie, and those who disliked it chose not to comment at all. In such cases, the author's recommendation becomes futile, and his assumption that "movies of good quality are available" becomes quite specious.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands right now is unpersuasive, if not outrightly false. It relies on a number of unwarranted assumptions, and the director needs to provide additional evidence, perhaps in the form of a detailed research study, to further his claims and suggestions. Only in the presence of more conclusive evidence can the argument be evaluated properly.