The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

“According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular

doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the

doll’s features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same

parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the

doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced

Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the

same higher-quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful

competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it

won’t quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima

Doll Manufacturing this year.”

The memorandum from Primo Doll Manufacturing, claims that with the improved material, the Elkie doll will outsell the competitor. There is always a benefit in quality production, but the president's conclusion that this change will excel their sales over the Optima is a bit of a stretch. This argument cannot be substantiated until some important questions are answered.

First of all, what kind of advertising to Optima use to present their product? The argument states that this company is the most successful competitor, but fails to elaborate on reasons why this is true. This outcome is not necessarily a direct link to quality of the material. If this company has endorsements or better pricing rates, this could be an important factor in surges of sales. Advertising and public relations are important in any industry. Without a direct correlation to the Optima materials and sales, it cannot be guaranteed to lead to outselling the product with this change alone.

Second, what guarantees the company will be given a second chance? To sell a product that is not of top quality would result in loss of trust in the customer base. Any past buyers have good reason to be wary of their business practices after being disappointed in the past. Children tend to form a bond with their dolls, often dragging them around until they fall apart over time. To have a doll wear out in a short time would be a waste of money and continued expense for replacements. Dolls are meant to be played with and children should not be expected to tiptoe around them. A company with a good trusted track record is more likely to attract and keep customers.

Finally, what exactly makes the president so confident in the outcome? The president did not give sufficient evidence to warrant the assumption that Optima would lose their standing as a result of Elkie's change in production. Granted, this action taken as a direct result of customer feedback can only increase their declining sales. Responding to these complaints and releasing an improved model will certainly increase sales but the projection of defeating the opposition is a bit premature considering the information presented.

In conclusion, the claim does not hold water. This upgrade is certainly a step in the right direction, but the assumptions and vague analysis of the plummeting sales cannot be enough for the president's prediction.