The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most populardoll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the

In the above statement, the author predicts that their profits will exceed those of Optima Doll manufacturing which is their most successful competitor because Primo Doll manufacturing has created Elkie-advenced Doll which has higher quality materials based on surveys of parents. While supporting the argument, however, the author relies on numerous unjustified assumptions which cannot be taken for granted thus it is necessary to consider other factors which can influence the author's argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the cited surveys are representative of all parents who they are tarketing for their customers, however, it may not be warranted. Given two surveys, there is no information about accurate number of respondants. If we do not know the actual number of respondants, it is hard to convince the argument because the percentile of expressing about satisfaction of their previous doll product would be useless if the small number of people participate in those surveys. Thus, the question pertaining to representativeness of survey is necessary to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the author presumes that an advanced-quality doll would be prefered by parents but it may not be the true. The manufacturing has created advanced model of doll by using higher quality materials than their competitors and it could make their new doll more expensive than that of comeptitors. If parents want to more cheaper dolls by considering their kid's fond which is quickly changed, they would not want to purchase their products any more even if they have liked their previous doll products. Therefore, the author has to answer about the what is the priority of parents who are their major customers.

Lastly, even if it is possible to make more sales on a newly launced doll, however, it would not directly lead to increase of profit. The author does not consider other aspects of profits such distiribution cost, economical situation in this year or cost of materials. The author alreday mentioned that the manufactoring used high quality materials for producing a new dolls and it may have brought more cost than ever thus if parents buy more dolls than before it would not entail more profits. Moreover, the number of purchase do not the sole determining factor which can contribute to profits. To make proper predictions of profits, it is essential to consider third factors otherwise the prediction would not be convincing.

In sum, the author makes positive predictions about their sales and profits which the new product will bring, however, it is crucial for the author to provide proper answers about the representativeness of cited surveys, priority of their customers and, other factors influencing to profits.