Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommended to adopt honor codes similar to groveton's for all college and university to reduce the number of cheating by studnts. The argument is based on observation of groveton's, however a number of questions need to be answered in order to judge the validity of this recommendation

Firstly, the author presumed that the honor code has proven far more successful than monitoring by teachers to decline in cheating among students based on the number of cheating for several years. To draw these conclusion, it seems not enough to assert that casual relation between honor codes and reduction of cheating is plausible because there might been other factors to influence the number of cheating. For example, there might been no change of frequence of cheating. if studunts do not want to report the cheating due to peer pressures, or if students do not observe to other students' cheating behabior during concentrating on their own exams, then there might be reduce the number of cheating reported by students. besides, if total number of studunts reduce, the number of cheating per student might have increase. therefore, the author need to provide more evidence pertaining causal relation honor codes and the number of students and total number of students before and after is necessary to justify author's recommendation.

Secondly, the author consider a recent survey reflects future behavior of the students correctly. however, the recents study might have only been an temporary result. it means that such intention for not to cheat during examination may not last for long enough. besides, there would several other factors related to cheat behavior such as situational and emotional environment. if studunts respond to restrain their cheat behavior, it does not mean stated intention translate into actual behavior. therefore, further and long-term survey or interview is necessary to evaluate the relation of intention and behavior for students.

Lastly, the augument supposed that all college and university are comparable to groveton college. Even if honor code has been successful at graveton's it does not automatically gurantee that every other school will yeild the same result by adopting the same policy. if groveton college has unique and exceptional traits (for example, missionary school for educationg pastors and priests), it might entails different results from groveton's. Accordingly, evidence related to characteristics of groveton's is need to in order to compare to general and average educational institutions.

In summary, questions pertaining to causalation bewteen honor code and the number of cheating behavior, the relation of intention and behavior, comparability of groveton's and general college and universities are crucial in assessing the author's claim .