Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men an

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the author's argument in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine that they should invest their resources in unmanned space flight rather than invest manned space flight due to the costs and risks. However, the author assumes that several unwarranted assumptions that can strengthen or weaken the author's argument. Thus, in the following essay will analyze several assumptions of the argument in order to fully evaluate it.

First of all, the author assumes that unmanned space flight is not costly. It is understandable to think of unmanned space flight as safe than manned because it could not harm any people in the space, however, there is no robust evidence that unmanned space flight would be less costly than the other type. In unmanned space flight, robots or machines should do men's jobs on the behalf of astronomers. It looks rational to think that unmanned space flight without real human being would be more expensive that with human beings. It could be hard to invent an artificial intelligence that can think and communicate with men on the Earth.

Secondly, the author presumes that the benefits of unmanned space flight is over that of manned flight. In other words, the author seems to ignore a great deal of achievements of manned flight spaces. Even if there are recent successes of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites, whether it has more advantages over manned type is not sure.

Thirdly, the author thinks that unmanned space probes and satellites are similar to other types of space flights. Proves and satellites are just for sending the picture of spaces or receive the signals and give it back to the Earth. However, other types of space flights such as trips to Mars or other stars would be harder than just gathering information; it should include several tasks like passing a judgment related to their departure, safety, or other critical things.

Lastly, the author thinks that the letter to the editor of national aeronautics magazines will be effective to urge the nation to invest their resources in unmanned space flight. But, it would not yield desirable results to the author because a decision pertaining that which kind of space flights would be better would be made by experts in official organizations such as NASA. Thus, sending a letter to a certain magazine seems not the best choice for the author.

In sum, despite the author wants to persuade people (maybe who are working in the field of national aeronautics) to invest their resources in unmanned space flight, he or she should provide readers of magazines and experts with more rigid evidence related to the argument such as the costs and benefits of unmanned space flight, similarities between several types of space flights, the necessity of human being, and the effectiveness of letters.