Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be

There are many controversial issues in our society. Some people think discussing sensible topics with those with opposing views is not helpful because talking with them does not influence their opinion. However, this essay does not agree with those statement with some reasons and examples.

Admittedly, it seems obsolete to talk with someone who has different opinion for some controversial issues because we can not influence them and also we just experience some dislike feelings. For example, there are numerous issues that could not be compromised with others who have opposing opinions. In the case of political choice, it is not easy for progressivists to discuss an economic policy with conservative people. For the problem related to religion, it is also difficult to talk and make a conclusive influence to each other. Like this, in certain circumstances, we are unwilling to discuss controversial topics with those with contrasting views.

However, we cannot ignore the other purpose of discussion. Discussion is useful to not only change other people's thought but also can influence discussants minds and perspective. Even if talking to those with contrasting views do not transform each other's original thought, it is helpful to each other by broadening our perspectives. Let's guess we need to make a decision about abortion or capital punishment. You could could also decide your policy by yourself, but hearing from the opposition side will help you to understand the negative impacts of your opinion and it will make your opinion more strong and comprehensive. Thus, sometimes it is better to discuss and debate with others who have polemical opinions for making a better decision.

Moreover, no one can fully know about the conclusion of the conversation thus it is absorb to assume that someone with contrasting view does not change their minds. Although they looks stubborn and robust, it is too hasty to decide not to talk with them. Someone with a contrasting opinion also belongs to other society and is members of our society so he or she also has an authority to express their opinion freely. If we do not allow people to debate about their sensible opinion, our nation would not be a democratic society. For making our society more healthy, we need to hear and reflect opposing opinions too.

Consequently, just evading to talk with other people who have contrasting opinion is not a best choice in certain cases. There are also merits to discuss with them. Thus, we need to make a wise decision by listening to and embracing opposing opinions.