All students should be required to take the driver s education course at Centerville High School In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained th

The author asserted that all students need to take a mandatory program sponsored by the high school for solving traffic accident problems. For supporting the argument, however, the author relies on several unconvincing assumptions thus further evidence pertaining to traffic accidents and opinions of parents is necessary.

Firstly, the author presumes the majority of accidents are caused by teenage drivers, but it may not be the case. Because, the author passes judgment base on the fact that “several” accidents happened and it may not be the same word that a lot of teenagers made an accident. other residents besides teenagers might have brought the reported accidents and teenagers might have been victims of those. In addition, even if the teenager bring about accidents, they might have driven a bicycle. To be a convincing argument, the author needs to present evidence related to accidents caused by teenage drivers of Centerville.

Secondly, the author assumed that a number of parents are concerned about accidents of their children and mandatory program will be welcomed by those parents, however, this might not be true. The author does not demonstrate the socio-economical background of parents thus it is uncertain that all parents who lived in Centerville can afford to take safety programs held by the high school. A survey that can provide an opinion of parents and is representative of general parents of Centerville is essential to evaluate the author’s recommendation.

Lastly, although the author thinks the high school as an institution that could deliver the best safety education programs for students, but it is uncertain. There are already two existing driving schools that may be more effective for secure driving of students. Moreover, the capability of high school to provide competent teachers is insecure, based on information given by the author. If they do not have competitive teachers and the capability to conduct a safe driving program, an attempt to develop that kind of program may be a waste of resources. Accordingly, the author has to take into consideration that it could be the best choice for the high school, parents, and students.

To sum up, the author presents the solution of the high school program for parents and students to reduce accidents caused by teenage drivers but it sounds like not the best recommendation because the argument is based on numerous unjustified assumptions. To be more convincing advice, further evidence pertaining to the opinion of parents, the cause of accidents, and the capability of high school is crucial.