The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

The author weighs cooperation than competition and asserts that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in every field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, however following essay will address the importance of a sense of competitiveness like cooperation for developing our society, industry, or other fields.

Admittedly, a sense of cooperation is an indispensable ability for a good leader. For example, if a leader is responsible for the decision making of the department of government, the leader should hear what people want and what experts recommend because a leader is representative of common people who elected him or her. Without cooperation with experts or denying to accept common people's ideas, he may ignore his responsibility. Let's consider a leader of a business. If he does not corroborate with his or her employees, it would be hardly successful because one person cannot check all of the things for a good product. A business consisting of members who are thinking about their promotion and do not want to listen to others’ opinions for better decision would fail to survive.

However, competitiveness is also an important character for an effective leader. In the contemporary rapid-changing world, no nations or industries can survive without harsh competitiveness. For being competent nations, a leader of government need to focus their limited resource on improving high-technologies such as AI robot or drone industry. If a leader always sets his or her priority on cooperation with other countries, it is hard to get their achievement. Since the one most important responsibility is survival of a nation, a leader who needs to progress the country should compete with other countries for securing their nation.

Furthermore, competitiveness is essential to businesses and every innovative and successful businesses have leaders who are good at cooperating with inner groups and at competing with outside of groups. For example, think about Steve Jobs who was a maverick leader of Apple corporation. He relied on not only cooperation but also competition with other cell-phone businesses including Nokia. He could lead the success of Apple with the competition with several businesses and it made Apple more rigid to other competitors. Another successful leader Mark Zuckerburg also illustrates how competitiveness is important. If he cooperates with other social networking service and does not compete with them, he might not provide the service like Facebook. In the competitive business world, a leader who was educated on the importance of cooperation might not secure survival and protect their company.

In sum, the author's claim that we need to inspire a young leader to cooperate with other people is plausible in certain circumstances, nonetheless, a sense of competitiveness is also necessary characteristics for being an effective and successful leader. Thus, to make our society more healthy and competitive, we need to take a balanced approach between cooperation and competitiveness.