The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people s efficiency so that they have more leisure time Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

There is no one who can deny the rapid achievement of technology in contemporary society. It is common to see that news reported that a breakthrough product is invented by a business or institution or else. There are still controversies about what the purpose of technological advancement should be. The author asserted that the most important goal of technological accomplishment should be to increase people’s efficiency to offer more leisure time, however, below essay does not largely agree with this claime based on the consideration of other principal purposes of technologies.

Admittedly, efficiency is one of the most primary ends of technological achievements as shown history of technology. For example, all businesses related to telecommunication struggled to make their service faster than ever. Several decades ago, people thought that 3G service of telecommunication is enough fast to search but now businesses introduced 4G, 5G, and now LTE is available to be used and it made people get time for themselves, making spend less time on waiting for delivering a data. A laundry machine is also a good example to illustrate how we get efficiency through technology. Due to a laundry machine, people (especially those who are women) could reduce the time devoted to doing laundry. Like this, technology aiming to increase efficiency give us the time for resting.

Nonetheless, the end of technological achievement should not be limited to enhance efficiency to make people have more rest time than ever. Another important purpose of the development of technology is to deliver benefits to the disadvantaged. This kind of technology may not bring efficiency to most people but it may give people who cannot walk or speak or move opportunities to live their lives. For example, A disability robot is a robot designed to help people who have physical disabilities with daily tasks. This robot cannot work for people who do not have physical disabilities to provide efficient means but it is worthwhile for many disabled people.

Furthermore, if the purpose of technology is restrained to efficiency, fundamental development of technology would be hardly achieved. For example, Newton’s theory of gravity or Einstein’s theory of space-time, and Hawking’s theory of quantom are not said to be perfectly fit the purpose of improvement of efficiency. A theory related to the basic principle of science or the world is essential to understand the physical world and expand our perspectives of the universe but it could not be applied instantly for enhance efficiency and has no effect for getting leisure time for people. Even if it is not easy to find immediate application of technology, development of technology itself is important to be achieved.

Therefore, the author who claimed that the goal of development of technology is limited to improve efficiency for offering leisure time to people should consider other goals of technology based on broad perspectives. Technological achievement should contribute to help people who are in need and expand our knowledge of the world as well as to enhance our efficiency of working.