Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your pos

Whether we want or not, we should encounter the moment to make a critical decision. Some people think that the essential judgment of non-expert has little value while other people regard that non-specialists also can make the right decision like experts. This following essay will largely disagree with the former opinion and advocate the ability of non-experts with the below reasons and examples.

Admittedly, in passing critical judgment, following experienced experts’ opinions seems to be adequate for us than following the public sentiment or average person’s opinion. Because experts have in-depth knowledge and many experiences in their fields with life-long dedication and ceaseless efforts, they could have an insight into various situations and make a solution when our society faces an unexpected obstacle. For example, when people get sick, they would go to the hospital rather than asking their friends or web-sites. Even though some laymen are knowledgable of medical information, people do not want to give the chance to diagnose their diseases by a non-expert. Like this, in the field of diplomacy, experts’ opinion is essential to make an agreement or accord which could affect a nation’s economy and society. If critical judgment related to the nation’s future is decided by public opinion or laymen’s insight, it would be harmful to all of us. Thus, like the stated argument, in some fields, it is better to give decisive power to experts.

However, we should not ignore the non-expert’s insight and commonsense in specific fields. Although they do not have trained skills or experience in the laboratory, people could make the right decision by relying on their commonsense and general knowledge. For example, manufactures of new products usually ask just ordinary customers about the review and feedback of their product. In those processes, they could find the little or critical defection of the new product, which is not detected even by experts. Additionally, the case of the Vietnam war by the United States also illustrates the ability to pass judgment of general people. Many people did not buttress the war against Vietnam except experts in the white house, and eventually, it revealed that the worst war made by the United States. Therefore, public and laypeople also positively influence in certain circumstances.

Furthermore, non-expert’s enthusiasm and high-motivation could contribute to the society. Beginners are not fettered by conventional thought and do not follow the habitual courses of thought; thus, it could relate to breakthrough inventions in some times. For example, Jamie Link, who was a graduate school student, invented a smart dust that could be used to find a tumor. She was just a beginner chemist, but her insightful trial and motivated effort made a worthy invention. There are numerous instances like Jamie Link in specific fields; therefore, we should respect in some degree to the beginners and non-experts.

Consequently, the author states that we should follow the experts’ opinion when we pass a critical judgment in “every” field, however, in practically and empirically, non-experts’ commonsense should not be dismissed in certain circumstances.