Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

In our contemporary society based on democratic principles, some claim that local communities have to depend on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities while others believe that local communities are better served when leaders with necessary skills and time instead handle such projects. This following essay will largely agree with the later opinion with below reasons and examples.

Admittedly, relying on volunteers citizen may be a good idea in certain circumstances. If a city offers an opportunity for people, it would motivate citizens and provide the chance to utilize their potentials for the broad goals. It will also bring diverse ideas for making the community better and safer, or prosper than before and will give a sense of satisfaction to citizens who are involving those projects as a citizen who lived in a democratic nation. For example, In South Korea, there have been several projects which are initiated by volunteers such as field trips that have historical themes. Many people have participated in those projects by planning courses of trips and funding for projects and it has brought a lot of people who want to be amateur guides and visitors.

However, there are some negative aspects of just depending on citizen volunteers for projects in a city. Because citizen volunteers who are consist of various jobs and have diverse interests might not have special skills and necessary knowledge for developing plans for the city. Since lacking of knowledge and experience, they would make more mistakes and errors than experts would. Furthermore, citizen volunteers may not have enough financial ability to proceed with all of the communities' projects. Unless securing funding for projects which they planned, it could not be actualized because of lack of money. Additionally, citizen "volunteers" may not be last enough for finishing every project which they started. All of them have their jobs and hobbies, so it will be difficult to devote all of their mind and time to finish those project which may be important to someones who are closely related to that project.

Thus, it seems more plausible to give a role for making and proceeding a project to professional community leaders who already had adequate skills, experience, and knowledge. Educated leaders could find out the way of effective and efficient use of limited resources allocated to a specific project. They could do not repeat mistakes like volunteers and save the time for success in the project. Let's consider the situation: for restoring the city, all citizens try to give advice. It would bring confusion and chaos because a lot of ideas which may not be relevant to the cities because of their lack of specific knowledge of the city.

Consequently, the argument that local communities have to depend on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities seems impractical to adapt to all cities. To make a more balanced approach to develop successful projects, it is better to take consider the role of experts who are equipped with essential knowledge and experiences.