Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities e g organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity Others believe that local communities are better served when professio

Recently, there is a wide discussion about whether the local communities should depend on local volunteers. Some may holds that citizens should participate in those projects benefiting the communities. However, from my perspective, it is more practical to handle such projects for skilled and specific community leaders.

To begin with, theoretically, it is true that citizen volunteers are the suitable people who should contribute to local communities. In other word, the community projects always aim to improve the living standard of citizens. So they should be highly motivated and responsible for these projects. For instance, a sport league provides a platform for youth to do physical exercise. Citizens are able to hang out and play football together by such a platform. As a result, they are likely to join in the organizing of the league. Hence, local citizens are indeed ideal candidates for projects in local communities in theory.

Furthermore, despite volunteers are enthusiastic, professional community leader with skills and time may actually better choice. To be more specific, the residents may be various in different areas. In those communities established recently, most of its residents may be young people, who are active but often have to focus on their own works as the increasing workload among whole society. While they are willing to contribute to the projects, they simply do not have so much spare time. On the contrary, there might be more elder people in conventional areas. Elder people could be less interested in thing which young people like, such as sport. In this case, organizing a sport league for young people living in such areas may lost public support. In addition, collecting donations for charity may attract lots of attention from elders. But collecting donations is not an easy job. It requires precise counting of donations, which will be challenging for elders themselves. In these cases, professional community leaders provide a more effective and efficient way to handle the projects. Therefore, we should employ an expert to deal with them.

In conclusion, although citizens seem proper candidates for community projects, professional leaders are more practical solutions.