As people rely more and more on technology the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate

Nowadays, as the development of technology, people’s life become more convenient than ever. The dependence on technology has been widely discussed. Some may hold that we are too rely on technologies to think independently. However, I cannot agree. From my perspective, technologies help people to think better.

To begin with, admittedly, we become more dependent on high-tech products, e.g., smart phones, laptops, etc. All these play important roles in our life, serving as significant tools to solve various problems. Take calculator as an example. Calculators are now ubiquitous, no matter physical ones, or those embedded in smart phones. When we want to count how much did we spent today, we could add all expenses by simply few presses. On the contrary, in the past, we had to calculate on draft. With calculators, we count less. Consequently, our calculation become less proficient. Therefore, we indeed more rely on technologies today.

Furthermore, technologies actually improved rather than decreased our thinking ability. This is because technologies only helps us to solve the works which are low level and redundant. As a result, we can focus on the work on higher level, and thereby think more comprehensively and work more efficiently. For instance, a novel term, big data, become popular these years. As its literary meaning, it refers to a tremendous amount of data. In the past, we even not be able to collect such data due to limitation of technology. But now, applying cutting-edge technologies, collecting, storing, even analyzing such data become possible. So we are more insightful on data than ever. Hence, technologies actually proved us a stronger ability to think for ourselves.

In conclusion, although technologies are more and more indispensable in our daily life, they won’t diminish our thinking ability. Instead, it enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of our thought.