The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whe

In this argument, the author proposes that the reason for the rise in accidents related to bicycles is that bicyclists wearing helmets are more likely to take risk. To justify this conclusion, the author points out that a study shows that the percentage of bicyclists wearing helmets have increased from 35 to 80. Moreover, the author indicates that the number of serious accidents involving bicycles also increased. In addition, the author claims that 75% of riders feel safer with a helmet. Nonetheless, the author should consider some alternative explanations to challenge the proposed explanations. Otherwise, the argument and the conclusive claim might be untenable.

To begin with, in the argument the proposed explanation is that the number of serious accidents involving bicycles increased two hundred percent proves that there is a significant rise in accidents. Nevertheless, alternative explanations could challenge this interpretation. It is possible that the proportion of accidence is deceased. For instance, bicycles have become more and more popular these years, so many people started to commute by bicycle to decrease their carbon footprint. As a result, bicycles on road increased four times than before. Despite the absolute amount of accidents increased, the proportion of accidents could be decreased in reality. Under such a scenario, these alternative interpretations exist to explain the facts in the argument, and then the argument could be readily debunked.

Furthermore, although there are indeed more accidents, the reason for the increment could be something else other than the risk taking of riders wearing a helmet. First, it could be a more dangerous environment for riders. For example, to improve traffic efficiency, many cities have heightened the speed limit of urban roads. In this case, as vehicles drive faster on the road, vehicle drivers and bicycle riders seldom have enough time to react properly during an emergency, so the possibility of accidents increased. On top of that, even if the context of riders remains the same, the helmet could have other negative effects instead of let riders feel safe. One could be it makes riders less flexible to turn their heads to observe the surroundings. It can lead to terrible consequences. These alternative explanations could challenge the author’s one and can also plausibly account for the fact presented in the argument.

Although the proposed explanations might justify the conclusion, the author should check some alternative explanations to challenge the proposed explanations. More considerations might be recommended to bolster the argument and the conclusion.