The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

What is the best way to cultivate one's leadership? Some may hold that instill in young people a concept of cooperation is the best way. However, from my perspective, no matter in government, industry, or any other field, a sense of competition is also critical.

To begin with, cooperation indeed benefits one's leadership. When conducting group work, admittedly, the ability to cooperate helps to enclose the relationship between group members, and thereby improves the efficiency of working. As a result, the member who has such an ability could be the leader of the group naturally. For example, the general of a troop, without consideration for soldiers' life, blindly command his subordinates to run to the deadly frontline and charge into battle, while concealing himself in a solid bunker. He will definitely defame among the troop, and soon lost his leadership. Therefore, cooperating contributes to leadership.

On the top of that, except for cooperation, competition is essential as well. By simply cooperating, group members' potential may hardly be activated. Who has a sense of competition and is able to outweigh others, providing the largest contribution to the group is eligible to lead the group. Besides, a successful leader should be able to direct his group members to excess other groups in the competition between groups. At this time, the ability of competition is crucial. For instance, the coach of a football team must teach his team players aggressive strategies to defeat opponents and win the game. Despite the cooperation still undeniable, the key to winning is competition against opponents. Hence, to be the leader of a group, the sense of competition is quite critical.

In conclusion, although the ability to cooperate is an important dimension of leadership, the sense of competition is also significant when we lead a group.