"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement here depicts a comparision between competition and cooperation in the sense of preparing the youth for leader roles in a specific domain with giving full weightage on sense of cooperation as the key to achieve success . Though, I would respectfully disagree with the author of this passage. What I feel is, a sense of competition is something which drives a person to reach the ultimate goal. If a person is not competitive enough then it simply indicates he will surrender to tough situation in the near future if given charge of any situation. There are many real instances around us in the world of technology,politics and sports which shows that competition is the ladder to success in creating leaders.

Firstly, if there is no competition amongst individuals the motivation to produce something new just vanishes. A good leader is someone who produces effective result along with something new and innovative . For example, if we consider the young talents of indian cricket, we can derieve many such instances where competition led to the success of a particular leader. 'Mahendra Singh Dhoni' the former captain of the Indian cricket team had to struggle a lot in his initial days to find a position in the team as there is a lot of competition amongst new goons. He learnt a lot from his competition and grew skills just by observing and proved to be a good leader . He is known as 'Captain Cool' just because he knows how to handle tough situations and come as a winner. So I believe competitiveness prepeares you for the worst.

Next I would like to present the case of university admissions. There is a big fight for top university admission because of the high level of applicants applying to the university. The university never chooses all the applicants.So the competion starts from the early stages of the process of becoming a leader. There is a huge competition to get into your desirable university. So this competition helps in the realization of any individual that how well should he prepare himself for the future to become successful.

Last but not the least, the young college graduates who have this idea in mind of a brilliant startup have to struggle a lot because there is a possibility that someone from another university has the same idea and is already working on it . So both the parties have to work hard and find something innovative to become a successful startup. A live example which supports the above claim is the competition between two food delivery applications 'Swiggy' and 'Zomato' in India. Both these startups were started by young minds and are really successful today because of the competition amongst themselves.

Though , cooperation with the organization is really neccessary but leader of any organization is only one. So i would stick to my point that competition is the key in making effective and not feckless leaders.