Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that the reason for a fewer people attending the Super Screen produced movies is because of the lack of advertising which results in minimal people turning out to attend movie screening and claims that super screen should stress more on the adverstising part and reach out more to the general public. Though there are major gaps in this line of reasoning.

The report generated by the marketing department is only for the Super Screen produced movies . There is no discrete comparision shown between other production house with Super Screen produced movies. A more appropriate comparsion would have suggested the total number of people who turned up for any production house movie screening during the last 1 year. There is a possibility that the total no. of people going to screening for all the production houses might have decreased and hence the increasing the budget on advertising would just go in vain.

The next comparision is between the positive reviews of the last year with any past year. But even this is not discrete comparision , as the number of people going to the movie halls have decresased the percentage cannot be compared to the previous year percentage. Moreover there should be a comparision between the positive reviews of other production houses with the Super Screen produced movies. That would account for a more valuable comparision. If the positive reviews of Super screen production house is much more than its competitors then it can be inferred that the quality of movies are good and there is no issues with the content and so there is no point of allocating extra budgets for advertsing as the number of people going for any movie screening is less.

People nowdays prefer sitting at home and wait for the movie to air on there telivision sets as spending money of movie tickets is a burden for them. So the advertising must be reaching out to them but as they frugal and hence would prefer to watch it later on their personal TV sets. Hence, even in this case the extra budgets would just be a waste as it wont target any new prospective viewers.

So, the recommendation provided by the author is not appropraite to the argument and the marketing department should dig out some more relevent facts and data to come to a point of reasoning.