Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s abilityto relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated byliving in one place and developing a deep understanding of that com

Recently, there is a widely discussed question that whether traveling to and living in different places helps improve ones' interpersonal social skill. Some may hold that during travel our ability to relate and connect to others can be enhanced. However, I cannot agree with it. From my perspective, staying in one place is a better choice.

To begin with, it is true that traveling allows us to meet more different people, and thereby indeed increase our ability to connect to other people. To be more specific, during traveling, we will inevitably interact and communicate with various people from different regions, living in diverse cultures and speaking foreign languages. We have to respect the diversity and overcome the difficulties to continue our journey. In this process, we can learn a lot about how to handle our relationships with people. For instance, when we travel to Thailand, although we cannot understand their language, we can try our best to understand them in body language. Hence, traveling indeed benefits our social ability.

Furthermore, despite traveling enables us to meet more people, we can hardly develop a strong relationship with them. So instead of living in numerous places, staying in one place can better helps us to cultivate the ability. What I mean is that, only by staying in a single place, we are able to living with a specific group of people. As a result, we can communicate with them frequently in daily life, and build a develop a deep understanding of the community. For example, as we go to university, we usually meet our classmates or professors everyday. They are exactly the most familiar people in our college life. Therefore, living in one place enable us to build up social skill better.

In conclusion, the living in single place contributes to developing of one’s ability to relate and connect to other people.