Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one’s ability

to relate and connect to other people. Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by

living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that community.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is human nature for people to relate to each other. I mostly agree that living in numerous places increases one's ability to connect. It is certainly possible to cultivate an ability to relate and connect with either choice, but the stronger likelihood for success comes with travel. There are a few reasons why the former is more advantageous.

First, living in multiple places gives a larger scope of humanity as a whole. A person might be used to one location and find themselves shocked by the way another place functions. It leads to questions and therefore a deeper knowledge of why these people chose to live in this way. It teaches a person to respect cultures different from their own and even immerses themselves in it. This will weaken the fear of the unknown and lead to a wide variety of friends.

Furthermore, moving so often you learn to adapt quickly to new surroundings and cultures. For a person who stays in one place, adaptation is not a skill they must acquire. Many travelers find that people they once assumed to be vastly different from themselves are actually quite similar when they take a closer look. The bonds of family and struggle of the workforce are universal. While the unique qualities of a place cannot be entirely mimicked, it is usually possible to find some common ground. This is essential for individuals who want to cultivate a connection with others

Lastly, while the other side can argue that living in one place leads to deeper ties, the goal presented in the prompt is relating and connecting. Staying in one place will not exercise your ability to adapt, consequentially leaving you to assume that you have a clear idea of how others act. There is an argument to be made for the media, which does often portray many different lifestyles, but living and seeing are two very different things. One cannot learn to connect simply by watching others do so in movies or television shows. Not to mention, places like Amish country are uniquely isolated from the outside world, rejecting their customs. A person in that community would have no idea what the outside cultures entail. Even these strict practices let youth spend time outside to learn and decide for themselves.

In conclusion, while either side can make a valid argument for ability to cultivate connection, the chances are far greater with exploration. The potential for learning and testing yourself will lead to an open mind, and in turn, an open heart.