CLAIM: Young people’s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like

smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

REASON: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships

online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

The topic claims that portable devices have led to a decline in the development of social skills. The reason presented for this outcome is that it encourages artificial personalities and relationships. I mostly agree with the claim that it has hurt young people's social skills. This phenomenon has not affected the older generations as deeply because they have lived without and remember when engaging with people around you was necessary for a social life. These devices have led to less real-life connections and many dangerous artificial masks.

First of all, when reading artificial relationships, I think of the new trend of catfishing. People posting false profiles with names and faces that are not their own to lure people into interacting with them. This is a way for some to feel a sense of love and romance in a life that feels lacking, but some use it to hurt others. There are many cases of victims fooled into believing they have found love or even losing money.

Secondly, cyberbullying has led to many catastrophic outcomes. With portable devices, bullies are able to torment others without fear of consequence. Many youtube users take pleasure from victimizing other people's video blogs with comments they would never make in person. This need to hurt and humiliate another person might stem from their own traumas, but they are fearful to face those in the real world. This has led to many cases of suicide in the victim.

Granted, there are young people who don't feel confident in social situations and often find their only meaningful connections can happen behind a screen. The development of portable devices allows for anxious persons to still feel a sense of community. Without this ability to test the waters and find someone like-minded in a safe environment, they may find themselves isolated altogether. Innovations such as dating applications and social media have allowed for connections that might otherwise never have blossomed. This could very well lead to in-person interactions and deep connections in the future, regardless of how they began. The reliance on these devices in young people is what is detrimental to full honest communication skills. Many teenagers can say they are spending time with friends but in reality, every individual's eyes are glued to their own phone.

In conclusion, I mostly agree with the statement and conclusion of this claim. There are some benefits to this innovation but the magnitude of the power and attention young people give this virtual reality is harmful to their social development.