CLAIM Young people s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills REASON These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than ful

The author asserts that young people's lack of thier development of social skills because extensice use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets lead young users to form artifical personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them. There is no denying there is some aspect of hurting their development of social skills, however, it may not be true in all circumstances.

Admittedly, it is easy to see several instances in our reality that show problems caused by use of portable devices, especially in using of a smartphone which makes people access on the internet in everywhere at everytime. For instances, cyber bullying is one of the major problems between young people who use portable devices. Victims are usally suffer from teasing by peers who are using their social network service to upload shameful posts or photos on victim's SNS account and quickly erasing those posts before someone accuse of them. This cyble bullying and hostile comments on someone's news article or social network accounts may occur because of the anonimous characteristics of the internet and by using of portable devices which make people more easy to access the internet. Like this, it seems plausible that young people are losing thier social skills.

However, it seems difficult to agree with the author in full because there are benefits to the opposing positions. For exmaple, portable devices like smartphones and tablets have changed dramatically our way of communication, enabling not only young people but also us to keep touch with each other more frequently despite of obstacle such as long distance or differenct time. Due to this technologies, new etiquette to communicate in online community occured and although it will take some times for young people to learn about this etiquette, but it do not mean that they could not develop social skills at all. Thus, problems that the author points out could be settled down by educating young people and the use of portable devices have several advantages.

Moreover, even if young people prefer to being make thier artificial personalities and relationships online rather then fully honestly engaging with the people around them, however, it may not the lasting situation. Because of rapid cycle of information and advent of several platforms of social networking such as instagram and Facebook, it is hard for young people to sustain their hishonest personalities even in online. If a young person posts on fake facts or untruth scandals on their account, it would be detected by his or her peers right away because it is very easy to find out the validity or truthness of information uploaded on online. Thus, althought it is possible to make fake personalities but it would last forever because of development of technology.

Consquently, the claim that young people have little skills of social communication because of portable devices is plausible to some degree but it may not be true if the author take consideration about several advantages of development of technology and newly emerging culture of online etiqutte. Thus, it is better choice to take balanced approach about the decision of young people's social skills.