The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people

There are several categories to estimate how great the nation is. To be sure, two of the best ways are to measure how their citizens live well and to find what great achievements made by its rulers, artists, or scientist. Former side has some benefit to measure the great nation, however, I largely agree with that both of them are significantly important to decide which country is great.

Admittedly, no one says that it is great nation for its residents if people do not enjoy basic elements of life, such as adequate jobs, safe house, or enough foods. For example, we cannot agree with that North Korea is doing well for their people, even if there are plenty of programmers who are competitive to world-class hackers. There were several competitive artist in Nazi German but it would be hard to consider Nazi German was great nations. Like this, the general welfare of its people is more good indicator for measuring a nation than accomplishment of individuals.

However, a great achievement of some pioneering people is also valid indicators for a great nation because their achievement could influence the general welfare of its people. The case of Tony Blaire clearly illustrates why certain accomplishment is fundamental to a nation. Tony Blair implemented some sort of economic policies, including minimum wage. This policy has assured people’s adequate wage for living and played a large role of improving our standard of life. In addition, Lincoln’s emancipation of slavery promoted the idea of racial equality and contributed to principle of equality, making the world more just.

Furthermore, great scientific breakthroughs may influence our standard of life, therefore it is be a good indicator for a great nation. For instance, due to Marie Curie’s theory of radioactivity, now we can develop technique of detecting a cancer tumor. Thanks to Newton and Einstein, it is possible for us to understand our planet, physical world, even space-time. By adapting their theory, we have achieved to improve our welfare, thus a great success of individual may be the condition of people’s sufficient condition of living. In according to this, it is plausible to say certain achievement could be a proper criteria to evaluate a nation.

Thus, the author’s statement only holds true in some cases but it is not necessarily acceptable in general because a great success of certain individuals may be result in improving general welfare of people of nation. In summary, we need to take both sides to measure a great nation to evaluate diverse aspect of nations.