The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school Last year Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor Swift Nutrition This company serves low fat low calorie meal

The author of the statement, the parents of Kensington school students, asserts that the school should replace Swift Nutrition, the private vendor of school, to prohibit the severe health consequences for students. However, the author relies on unjustified assumptions that could not be taken for granted; Thus, the following essay will address the author's assumptions and request several answers to strengthen or weaken the author's argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that students do not like to eat low-fat, low-calorie meals. It could be plausible to see students who usually want to eat instant foods, junk foods, or something like this. However, the author should not generalize that all students hate to eat healthy meals. The author provides their sons and several his friends' opinions as to the instance of complaint of Swift; however, it is not sufficient to conclude that all students are the same as their sons and his friends. Thus, the questions about the opinions of the majority of students of Kensington Academy should be answered to verify the argument.

Secondly, the author presumes that if the school does not change its private vendor, Swift, students will bring foods for them, which are more deleterious to their health. However, no one could guarantee these consequences. Because the Kensington Academy is a private school, thus average parents whose income cannot afford the tuition of the private school do not choose this school. Relatively high-class parents would be likely to take care of their kid's meal. They would not allow their children to eat less health lunches even if kids hate the cafeteria foods. Therefore, to assess the author's argument, the author has to present the response of students' parents in case that their kids do not want to eat at the cafeteria.

Lastly, the author thinks that Swift will provide its students with less tasty foods every day. Even though the private vendor made some distasteful foods, and it had students brought food for themselves, the possibility that Swift will change their policy exists. If parents and students give feedback on their meals to Swift, the company could differentiate their foods to satisfy their students. The author concludes that the school should replace their cafeteria company based on just yesterday's complaints of their sons and his friends, and there is no enough time to access the Swift's performance which is changed last year. Thus, the author should answer the questions pertaining to the overall feedbacks, performances, and the possibilities of change.

In sum, the author worries about students' health problems and gives advice to the school to replace their cafeteria company. The arguments based on the opinions of students; however, it depends on unjustified assumptions. Thus, the author has to answers about the students' and parents' views and the response of the Swift to strengthen the argument.