One month ago all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used to be Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are no

The author asserts that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex to increase their profits dramatically based on the experience of the restriction maximum water flow of the first three buildings. However, this argument relies on numerous unverified assumptions thus more evidence about this conclusion is necessary to evaluate the claim.

Firstly, the author does not have the data of actual readings of water usage before and after the restriction had been applied even if it is essential information for deciding whether it is better to extend the same restrictions to other buildings or not. If adjustment does not affect the amount of water usage of the first three buildings, there would be no profit in changing the policy of water usage and there would be no ground. Thus, data related to water usage is necessary to approve the author’s claim.

Furthermore, the author judges based on feedback which was just collected for a month. Because of the seasonal or climate properties, the observation of just a month is too short to gauge whether there are no enormous complaints or not. To be a more convincing argument, the author has to make an observation based on at least one year watching to figure out how tenants respond to this newly adopted showerhead. Also, to survey them might be better evidence for their decision if it is possible. Accordingly, it is indispensable to ask the author to provide more continuous feedback and responses of tenants of the first three buildings.

Lastly, the author assumes that the first three buildings and other nine buildings have the same characteristics whereas the evidence of the usage of the buildings is not provided. Even if the newly adopted policy is adequate for the first three buildings and it might lead to the company’s increased profits, there is no guarantee that the same policy would be substantial to other buildings. Other buildings may be used to hair salons or gyms where water usage is above the average buildings, there would be fury and angry respondence of tenants of the building and in the worst case there will leave the Sunnyside Towers Complex and thus would reduce the profits of the company drastically. Thus questions related to the characteristics of all buildings are essential to pass judgment of the author’s claim.

In sum, the author does not have enough evidence to decide the modification of their policy of water usage. Thus the questions pertaining to usage differences of before and after adoption, continuous feedbacks related showerheads, and comparability of all buildings should be answered to support or weaken the author’s claims.