Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

Many people nowadays interested in being an effective leader who wants to achieve a goal and encourages their group members to be motivated, but it is not easy to determine which aspect is more important to be a good leader. The cited sentence weighs a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers than sound moral judgment, however, it is more plausible to disagree with the author's claim.

Admittedly, the ability to listen to his or her peers is important to sustain and make a vibrant group. For example, if a leader does not listen to others' opinion which is opposed to the leader and refuse to reflect any suggestions which seem to reduce leader's position, members of that group will follow the leader's tendency, thus it will make the group strict and rigid to other's opinion. To be a vigorous group, listening to other’s opinions is essential for enhancing the ability of a group's problem-solving.

Therefore, it is largely agreeable with the claim that in most cases a leader's tact to maintain the respect of his or her peers is important. However, this agreement does not mean that sound moral judgment is less important than the ability of respect of members. The moral decision which is made by a leader influences not only on a decision but on the whole society. For example, Lee Man Hee, the religious leader of Sinchungee (a kind of emerging religion) justified lie to get redemption of God and to do be selected by God. He encouraged his followers to lie and betray their neighborhood and government thus it makes a chaotic result when members of Sinchungee are investigated for the spread of COVID-19. Like in this case, the leader's moral decision is crucial for the whole society member as well as members of the leader's group.

In addition, the moral judgment of a leader is important to get the support of people. For example, Hilary Clinton who was an eminent candidate of President of America, could not be elected because of her past lies and hypocritical attitude. Her husband, Bill Clinton who was a President of America, used to be received wide support but he collapsed due to his sex scandal with a young secretary. On the contrary, A. Lincoln's moral decision to emancipate all of slavery despite popular opposition of southerners promoted the principle of racial equality. Thus, sound moral judgment can also have an enormous effect on a whole society.

In conclusion, proper moral judgment and respect of members should be combined so that they can have a synergetic effect for being an effective, powerful, and pursuable leader.