The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for thei

The author of the president of Seatown University asserts that they should institute a free-tuition policy for the purpose of enhancing morale among faculty and luring new professors by following the example of Oceania University. It seems interesting, however, the author largely relies on assumptions which cannot be taken for granted thus this following essay will point out other evidence needed to make strengthen or weaken the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that Seatown University and nearby Oceania University are suitable to compare each other. The author thinks that if the free-tuition had benefits in Oceania University thus it would make similar result at Seatown University. However, it may not be the case. If the former university is special university like religious institution, the impact of the free-tuition policy could not make the same impact to other general university. Additionally, if Oceania University is specially built to teach and professors do not receive any tuition by teaching, the faculty would escape the university for their decent life. If author give evidence about the sameness of two university, we should listen the author's argument. Otherwise, it is hard to adapt Oceania's specific and unique policy to Seatown University.

Secondly, the author surmises that free-tuition policy could be a best choice for the purpose of enhancing morale and attract new professors, however, it might not be true. Because there is no enough evidence to prove the impact of free-tuition policy related to those two purpose, the author could not conclude. We cannot sure whether there is negative impact of the policy or not and even do not know about the motivation and purpose of adapting the policy. The author should provide enough information about the result and effect of free-tuition in Oceania University.

Lastly, the author seems to omit other factors contributing to those two purposes. For example, sufficient salary and super-class service to professor would be result in enhancing morale and attracting more professors. Giving more funds to the faculty and attracting more eminent students may be the better options for the Seatown University. Thus, the author should think about other factors relating to two purpose and make a decision on the base of profound analysis.

In sum, the author wants to adapt the policy like Oceania University, however, there is no sufficient evidence to prove the argument. Therefore, the author should present more evidence pertaining to the comparability of two university, impact of free-tuition policy, and other possible policies.