According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies a

The author asserts that Super Screen should allocate a larger share of its budget next year to deliver favorable reviews to the public through advertising based on the recent report from their marketing department, however, it may not be the best choice for attracting more people to them. The cited claim relies on several unjustified assumptions, thus, it is necessary to ask critical questions to evaluate the author’s conclusion.

Firstly, the author depends on just the past year’s report of their marketing department, however, it may not be adequate to relate the general pattern of the public. One-year observation is too short time period to deduce people’s opinion from it. For example, the result of fewer viewers might have been caused by other factors such as economic harshness or spread of disease like SARS, MERS, or COVID-19. If there are uncommon situation in past year, the result would be not acceptable for making the decision of allocation the budget. Thus, the question of whether there is long-term report is necessary to justify the author’s recommendation.

Secondly, the author relies on the presumption that if reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies reach to the public, it will attract new viewers, however it may not be the case. Some movie reviewers’ opinion may not the same as the public because reviewers just saw ‘specific’ movies not most movies by Super Screen and they may do not have same favor for movies. Thus, it is essential to ask the public for identifying their preference.

Lastly, even if less popularity is caused not by the quality of movies or other factors but by lack of advertisement of reviewers’ review, allocation more budget may not be necessary to allure more people to watch their movies. Given information the author showed, the possibility that there is no attempt to proliferate favorable review remains. If the marketing department change their strategy of advertisement, Super Screen would not need to allocate more budget to that department. Therefore, the author has to present the former strategy made by marketing department and give the reason to increase the budget.

In sum, to accept the author’s suggestion that Super Screen should allocate a greater budget next year to spread reviews of their movies, answers about questions related to the long-term pattern, the public’s preference, and former strategy of marketing departments had to be illuminated.