The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument in question, claims that providing free-tuition to the college aged children of Professors, would serve to boost their morale, luring new professors and retaining current professors. The authors of this suggestion, the faculty committee of the Seatown University, have cited a study conducted at nearby Oceania University, in order to support their argument. But the argument is rife with assumptions and holes, which makes it a highly unconvincing argument.

To begin with, it is important to state that correlation between two events doesn't imply causation. The authors have provided us with no details about the study conducted in Oceania University, and therefore we don't have any proof of it's authenticity or reliability. A proof that the study had been conducted by a competent group of researchers, who had explicitly concluded that faculty retention is directly related to, and can be significantly influenced by, the offer of free tuition of professors' children would have provided some of the needed support to the argument.

Furthermore, the faculty committee has assumed the group of professors surveyed at Oceania University, to be a representative sample of all the professors in both of the universities in consideration. A corollary to this assumption is that whatever results, were obtained in Oceania University will also be obtained in Seatown. They have provided no evidence, on why the outcome of such a decision would hold the same effect in Seatown University. In addition to this, we must have been provided with data on the professors who choose to leave Seatown University, their ages, their family details, their research work, etc and preferably, there must also be data on the professors who are currently working in the University. If it can be shown from the data that the majority of the professors who leave, have kids at the level of college, then the argument may hold some credibility.

Moreover, the faculty committee has failed to consider any alternate policy in place in Oceania which serves to retain the existing professors. What if the professors in Oceania choose to stay their due to the high level of intellectual stimulus the University is capable of providing, or perhaps due to the high reputation of the University? Other factors, such as the salary of professors at the university, the good quality of students, the perks in terms of housing and medical facilities, or the facilities provided by the town in which the University resides often have a tremendous role in attracting talented new professors and retaining existing ones.

To conclude, the argument provided by the faculty committee stands weak and remains highly unconvincing. In order to strengthen their arguments, the authors should have provided details on the reliability of the study conducted at Oceania, the details of the professors who have left and also of the the remaining professors, reasons as to why a certain finding at Oceania would be equally valid at Seatown, and last but not the least, a discussion of other factors which play a major role in retaining Professors. Without such detailed analysis, the argument doesn't make a cogent case.