A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Setting a education policy is fundamental for nation to achieve its lasting and stable progress and influences so many people including parents, teachers and the most, students. Thus, there are controversies whether a nation applies formal education curriculum in all schools or not. The author asserts that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, however, it may not be the best choice if we take into account various circumstances of students and development of technology.

Admittedly, the formal education with national curriculum has a lot of advantages due to its standardization of teaching and effectiveness. For making a national curriculum, it might need several experts and teachers who knows what they have to teach and what essential materials are for each grades of students. Thus, students taught by formal education would be easy to follow what they learned and what they will learn. Furthermore, with formal education, it is possible to train professional teachers who are equipped with specialized knowledge and educating skills. It may lead all students of a nation to prepare for advanced knowledge effectively.

Nonetheless, there are several shortages of education with the same curriculum. First of all, it is hard to focus on individual students who have different abilities and variant potentials regarding on their own interest. If a student who wants to be a famous artist of painting with his or her intuitive expression of subject takes the same education with a student who is indulge into scientific theories such as quantum theory of Hawking, it would lead both of them to be less motivated and even worse it would make them discouraged to achieve their goals.

On the other hands, informal education with no equal curriculum has numerous merits for students who want to develop their own talents. Since in today's society communicative technology have developed so much, it is possible to learn almost everything in almost everywhere and it also make students find what they want to learned by whom they want to be taught by TED, Youtube or other sites for education.

Therefore, if the advantage of the informal education and disadvantage of the formal education with the same national curriculum, it seems more sage to take a more careful stance to adapt to the same national curriculum.