A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood Moreover the majority of

The author confidently asserts that the new Captain Seafood restaurant specializing in seafood would be attractive people in Bay City, however, this argument relies on numerous assumptions that could not be taken for granted. Thus, the author needs to answer the questions related to the validity of the statement.

firstly, the author assumes that the cited recent sales study is representative of all restaurants in Bay City, but it may not be true. First of all, the author does not provide the number of respondents of that survey. If there were more than 50% of all restaurants that participated in the survey, it would have great representativeness of general restaurants. But, if there were just 10 restaurants that took in the survey, it would be loss persuasiveness of the survey. Moreover, the result is based on a period of five years so the circumstances of people’s taste may be changeable to some degree, if there are specific factors that influenced the survey’s result such as television’s program addressing the benefit’s of seafoods. Thus, the author has to answer about the representativeness of the survey.

Secondly, similar to the first reasons, the author presumes that the nationwide study is valid to represent the situation of Bay City. Yet, it is necessary for the author to provide more information about the diets of the majority of families in the city. Given a nationwide study is representative of the general population of the City, the author’s deduction is correct. However, if people in Bay City are different from the average people, so if they do not afford to pay the relatively expensive cost of seafood, the author’s prediction should be changed. Thus, questions about the characteristics of the population of Bay City and the adaptability of the nationwide study have to be addressed by the author for a more convincing argument.

Lastly, even those two studies have the representativeness of restaurants and people in Bay City, the success of the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specialized in seafood may not be warranted. In Bay City, there are no restaurants for only seafood but it does not mean that other restaurants do not sell kinds of seafood and a new seafood restaurant will attract a lot of people. When people choose where they want to eat, they do not just consider the kind of food. Multiple factors such as distance, cost, taste, or service could influence the success of the new restaurant. Thus, it is too hasty to conclude that the new seafood restaurant will succeed in Bay City.

In sum, the author predicts the success of a new seafood restaurant but is may not be guaranteed because of the above reasons. Thus, the author needs to answer questions pertaining to the representativeness of two surveys and other contributing factors for the success of the new restaurants to strengthen the author’s argument.