A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

This argument discusses the reasons why a new seafood restaurant would be both popular and profitable in Bay City. However, the author makes several assumptions that create gaping holes in the argument, and in order to strengthen this claim, they would need to do more research.

The author cites that the consumption of seafood has increased by 30% in Bay City restaurants, claiming that this is an indicator that a restaurant specializing in seafood would be successful. However, the author fails to consider any outside factors that may have impacted thus surge in seafood. Perhaps Bay City has recently had an influx of new citizens. An increase in population would positively impact the sales of all dishes, whether seafood, vegetarian, or otherwise. Further, the author doesn’t compare this increase with any other dishes. If seafood has increased by 30% but fast food, vegetarian meals, and pizza have all increased by 60%, the 30% increase is no longer as promising. If the author were able to prove that the sale of seafood has risen while the rest of the options declined or remained stagnant, it would strengthen the claim that seafood is becoming more popular.

The study that this author cites also weakens the argument. The study is a nationwide survey, but the author uses it in reference to Bay City. The author assumes that Bay City itself has similar views as the nation as a whole. Though the overall results may indicate a desire for healthy food, a larger city that values healthy lifestyles may have contributed heavily, skewing the results. Bay City itself may filled with people who enjoy fatty and rich foods, but if Bay City is a small town, these survey results would be minimal compared to the large cities and thus may not have impacted the results much. If the author had included a study specific to Bay City that claimed that it’s residents desired better access to healthful food, then the argument would have been stronger.

The author states that an increased desire for healthful eating is a good reason to introduce a seafood restaurant. However, the author fails to explain what “healthful eating” means. Perhaps “healthful eating” refers to eating a plant-based diet – in that case, a seafood restaurant would suffer.

Though a seafood restaurant in Bay City would certainly be unique, the data presented in this argument is not sufficient enough to back up the claim that it would be profitable and popular. The author uses a nationwide study to prove the desires of Bay City, failing to realize that the entire nation may have different beliefs than Bay City itself. Further, the author never specifies what “healthful eating” refers to, merely assuming that fish falls under this category. Lastly, the author touts the fact that seafood sales have increased by 30% in restaurants. This may be promising, but without comparing it to the sales of other dishes, it very well may be meaningless. Overall, the holes in this argument need to be filled before it can be used as verifiable proof