The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The author of the statement claims that in order to determine the greatness of a country than we have to look at how the general public is being treated not by the achievements of rulers, artists, or any other famous personality. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

We as human beings seen many rise and fall of many nations and civilizations, such as from the Indus valley civilization to the roman and now the current civilization. Many of these civilizations became very successful and many were failed to sustain for a longer period of time. But in order to determine whether the empire or a nation is great, we can have different approaches and a number of different factors on which the foundation of a great nation depends. The author recommended one approach to determine the greatness of the nation, to determine its effectiveness we have to analyze whether the recommendation is going to be the ultimate or best solution or we can have a much better and different approach or we can add some other point also to make it more effective.

First, if in a nation its people are not treated equally, no or less freedom of speech, people are not getting enough opportunities to grow and being suppressed by their government or king if they raise their against them, then we can say that the nation is not great, for example, in the People Republic of China the common public is not allowed to say anything about their government and their scheme and we are also aware of their brutality against their own citizens whenever they protest against them. So, it very much important for a country if they want to be called a great country that they should provide a healthy environment to their citizen, the environment in which they have right within certain laws, and have opportunities to grow and flourish and can put forward their opinion.

However, ignoring the leaders, famous personalities of a country is not a very good idea in determining greatness as they are also part of the society and have influence and good hold over the say of the common man because they are followed by the huge number of people and are considered as an idol. They have a huge impact on society and can bring changes in their society, for example, Martin Luther King an Africian American who raise the voice against racism in the USA, and soon he became the voice of the nation. His continuous efforts bring the change in the society as well as he was successful in compelling the government to pass the law that will protect their rights as well. So it will be a mistake to simply ignore them.

Last but not the least, they another and also as important the other factor is that how a nation treated other nations of the same, low and high level and of course their neighbor countries. If a nation has all the other factor that makes it great but their tendency is to bully the neighboring countries or threaten them, then according to me they are not great as we know great power comes with great responsibilities.

In sum, I would like to say that to become a great nation, the government should take of its citizens in the best possible and effective way and should have cordial relations with the other countries.