Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

The author of the statement stated that the politicians should avoid those ideals that are difficult to achieve instead of they should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Politicians are those who run the country in every aspect be it economy, defense, education, and many more. They are the ones who are responsible for taking corrective measures for all their country as well as globally related issues. So, they should have principles that they have to follow and work accordingly keeping in mind that their principles or desires won't compromise the country's requirement and safety. Here the question the ideals or principle pursued by the politician should be common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

First, if a politician has elusive ideals than he will either destroy the country or will make the country best in the world as on any cost he wants to fulfill his desire and achieve his goal, for example, like in the past Hitler and Stalin did to the world and their own country. Hitler's desire was to make the Germany world power such that no one catch match and in order to achieve it he put the whole world into the war, the war known as second world war that took millions or millions of life and putting the world into danger. He may take another way to achieve his goals which would be beneficial for not only his own country but for the world also. But, as we know every coin has two faces this too has. The biggest advantage of having an elusive ideal is that you will be continuously working on it until and unless you achieve, for example, Martin Luther King, he has the elusive ideal during the time when he was protesting for the right of the African American and succeed in it.

Moreover, if a politician has to pursue common ground and reasonable consensus, then he might have compromised his ideals for the money and cloud create anarchy in the country or he might be stick to his path and ideology and work accordingly, like Indian Freedom Fighter Mahatma Gandhi did for the Independence of his country from Britisher. He sticks to non-violence and many other things to bring independence to his country and through his continuous efforts in August 1947, India becomes an independent country. But this took many decades to achieve his goal. So, according to me, this approach is good and effective and not the best one.

In sum, we can say that if a politician has elusive ideal than he might create a problem to his, and if he has common ground and reasonable consensus than also there is a chance that he would create a problem or this approach will take time. A better approach could be if they can follow something in-between of both approaches.