Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author's assertion that leaders should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals is rather too extreme as there are some cases where politicians will need to pursue elusive ideals to bring about a lasting change and as well reasonable consensus is sometimes needed as well. The following are points to back up my stand.

Firstly, America as a nation today will be unkown if not for the courage their founding fathers took by questioning British rule of law. Worthy to mention is leaders like Nelson Mendala who fought against segregation and equality in South africa and and today, generations after him are benefiting from such bold step he took. Also Mahatma Gandhi who's non violent disobedience to British rule made India an independent nation today. Elusive ideals are no doubt essential in bringing a significant change in any nation and as such should the importance of such a courageous move should not be watered down.

However, fighting for elusive ideals in the absence of basic needs in a nation can be termed injudicious. For instance, a nation without proper health care and educational facilities requires a consensus from the leaders of such nation to effect proper change in those sectors as it is fundamental and a basic requirement first to a proper living. Pursuing elusive ideals in this case which may or may not be realizable will be detrimental to the masses.

In conclusion, we should not be too extreme by pursuing common grounds and reasonable consensus alone while completely letting go of pursuing elusive ideals as their effect is lasting and can be passed unto generations.