The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Dr. Karp's interview-centered approach to studying cultures is valid as compared to Dr. Field's observation-centered approach to studying cultures, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for accuracy in understanding child-rearing traditions. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to render it valid.

The assumption that what happened 20 years ago should remain true. Dr. Karp failed to acknowledge the possibility of some changes in child rearing traditions that would have occurred, as it is now two decades ago Dr. Field's research was conducted. 20 years is long enough to witness a tremendous shift of cultures and traditions in Tertia. As a result, completely refuting Dr. Field's hypothesis is needless.

Secondly, there is no clear statement as to why the children were talking more about their parents than other adults. It was assumed that the children talking more about their biological parents than other adults translates to them being raised by them. What kind of questions were asked? it could be that the children were asked things related to their biological parents. Until this is cleared, the conclusion remains invalid.

Also, it will be important to know how representative the survey was. The author stated that his interviews involve children living in the group of islands, that includes Tertia. It will be necessary to know Tertia's specific data and how the survey was conducted before making such a broad conclusion.

While the argument presents an interesting hypothesis, the survey carried out is not strong enough to establish the validity of the conclusion to even a small degree as the assumptions made are not convincing enough.